Vegan MoFo 2012 – Flying by the seat of my pants!

1 10 2012

It’s official! Today is the first day of the Vegan Month of Food, and the first official day of this blog.

Did you know that in the U.S. there is at least one food holiday for every day of the year? Some of them are based on historical events, some of them were created by marketing departments or lobbyists to promote a product, and the origins of some are lost in the mists of the internet. And it saddens me that we aren’t taking advantage of these holidays. When was the last time you celebrated National Stuffed Mushroom Day (February 4) or National French Toast Day (November 28)? Well NO MORE! We will embrace our frivolous food holiday heritage! And for the month of October, we will celebrate ALL the holidays! At least one per day! Vegan-style.

Now I work full time, plus some. So I’m sure there will be a few days during the month where I can’t cook and will have to celebrate something belatedly. But I’m good with that! I will celebrate one food holiday for every day in October, even if it takes me until the end of November to do it! And I’m not doing anything ahead… hence the “flying by the seat of my pants” title. I may crash and burn. But if I do, I will share it with you. Because I’m awesome like that, and also because I have no shame.

So cheers to the Vegan Month of Food! I’ll be back tonight for the first food holiday celebration!

Actions

Information

2 responses

1 10 2012
panda cookie

Huzzah! I am excited to follow your theme this month.

1 10 2012
Vegan Meema

Can’t wait to see your dinner!

Leave a Reply

