Vegan MoFo Day 10 – Angel Food Cake

10 10 2012

Happy National Angel Food Cake Day!

Here’s a little fact about me:  I HATE ANGEL FOOD CAKE.  I’ve hated it since I was a kid.  And it’s a good thing, too, since angel food cake is one of the vegan baking holy grails… as far as I know, nobody’s really come up with a wholly satisfactory way to replace all those egg whites and have it taste like something other than yuck.

In case you’re not a baker, angel food cake is a type white sponge cake made super light and airy with whipped egg whites.  It’s pretty bland and really only makes an appearance on most peoples’ tables as a base for strawberry shortcake.  Personally, I prefer my shortcake with sweetened biscuits.  Partly because biscuits are awesome and easy to make, and partly because I really hate angel food cake.

I’m boycotting this holiday.  So is Merry.  This is how she feels about angel food cake:

Apparently both of us are more the devil’s food type.

So in honor of how much I hate angel food cake, here is a list of five other things I also hate as much as angel food cake. (In case my theme makes it less than obvious, these are links.  You should click them.)

  1. Celery
  2. Exercise
  3. Candy Corn
  4. The Color Pink
  5. Shock Collars

Have a great night!


Actions

Information

3 responses

10 10 2012
panda cookie

Kitty ain’t having no egg white cake!

11 10 2012
Sal

I’ve never tried angel food cake as I don’t think it’s a thing here in the UK. But whenever I’ve seen it on food programmes it looks like they’re eating sugary hay! BLARGH.

I also hate Celery. It is evil stuff and supermarkets should be banned from selling it. Dirty.

12 10 2012
Emily

I also hate angel food cake and celery. But I love that your cat hangs out in Trader Joe’s bags!

Leave a comment